Canadian Architect 2016 Awards of Excellence

[Link to Award Announcement]

[Link to C HOUSE Page]

Canadian Architect announced the winners of the 2016 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. 2016 marks the 49th anniversary of the Awards of Excellence, which have recognized significant building projects in Canada since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Patricia Patkau, founding principal of Patkau Architects in Vancouver; David Sisam, founding principal of Montgomery Sisam Architects in Toronto; and Manon Asselin, founding principal of Atelier TAG in Montreal.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered the following criteria:

  • Physical organization and form, including attention to composition and detail;
  • Response to program, site, geographic and/or urban context;
  • Innovation in concept, process, materials, building systems and/or implementation;
  • Demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness. 

By focusing on commissioned yet unbuilt projects along with exceptional student work, the program recognizes design ambitions and supports an overall culture of design excellence. 

Of almost 150 submissions received for this year’s awards program, the jury selected 4 projects for Awards of Excellence and 6 projects for Awards of Merit. In addition, they also selected 2 projects for Student Awards of Excellence.

[Download PDF]

%d bloggers like this: